Nisyros is a Greek volcanic island in the Dodecanese archipelago. It is located between the islands of Kós and Tilos. The island is mainly known for its traditional drink - soumada, which is a sweet soft drink flavored with almonds. In the capital Mandraki there is a harbour from where ferries to the islands of Kós and Rhodes depart, the ancient fortress of Paleokastro, which houses a male monastery dedicated to the Virgin Mary and a museum of popular art. In the town of Paloi there is the Hippocratic Baths and the village of Emporeios boasts a magnificent view of the volcano.
According to Greek mythology, the island was created from a piece of torn land from the nearby island of Kós, which was thrown by Poseidon at the giant Polivotus who wanted to escape. Historically, the island of Nisyros belonged temporarily to the Persians, Athenians, Alexander the Great and Rome. In 1522 it was conquered by the Turks, in 1912 it was occupied by the Italians, and after World War II it was returned to Greece.
- Greek name: NISYROS (Νίσυρος)
- Capital: Mandraki
- Island area: 50 km2
- Population: 1000
- The highest peak: Profitis Ilias - 698 m
Includes: Mandraki, Panagia Spiliani monastery, Nikia, Emporeios, Pali, Profitis Ilias, Stefanos, crater, ...